Three wins in enemy territory against Victory

Old foes resume hostilities when Adelaide United travel to face Melbourne Victory at Etihad Stadium on Friday night.

The second instalment of the ‘Original Rivalry’ this season promises to be just as entertaining as the 2-2 draw at the Adelaide Oval back in Round 3, headlined by a stunning Vince Lia brace.

So here are three memorable wins across the border:

0-1 win – 19/02/2016 @ AAMI Park

Players celebrate Bruce Kamau's goal against Victory in 2016

With the match appearing to head for a stalemate, Bruce Kamau popped up grabbing all three points in the 90th minute and extend the Reds’ unbeaten streak to 12 games. A lung-busting run from midfield by Craig Goodwin ended in Stefan Mauk playing the ball to Kamau out wide and his shot ricocheted past ‘keeper Danny Vukovic – garnering Adelaide’s first win in Melbourne in five years.

1-4 win – 09/01/2011 @ AAMI Park

Sergio Van Dijk after scoring against Victory

Adelaide had not beaten the Victory in their preceding 11 matches, further compounded by 10 successive losses ahead of their Round 25 clash of the 2010/11 campaign. But that soon changed when Travis Dodd cushioned a header for Marcos Flores to calmly finish. In the second-half, Sergio van Dijk drove a swerving 30-yard free-kick into the top corner and past the hapless Michael Petkovic, before Kevin Muscat received a second yellow card for a stray elbow.

Fabian Barbiero made an immediate impact, scoring with his first touch of the game by rifling a shot from close range after Melbourne failed to clear a corner. The Dutch-born Indonesian then grabbed a second, beating the onrushing goalkeeper to give the Reds a commanding 4-0 lead. Mate Dugandzic netted a consolation in stoppage time but the damage was already inflicted.

0-1 win – 15/10/06 @ Telstra Dome

Greg Owens scored the lone goal in theReds win over Victory in 2006

In the 83rd minute Adelaide had taken the lead against the run of play, courtesy of a clinical finish by Greg Owens. Nathan Burns sparked a counter-attacking move, leaving Grant Brebner in his tracks, threading a pass to the vacant Owens who had the poise and awareness to lift his one-on-one effort over the charging Michael Theo.

Adelaide United will face Melbourne Victory in Round 10 of the Hyundai A-League 2017/18 season on Friday, 8 December at Etihad Stadium. Kick-off is at 7.20pm ACDT.