Brisbane Roar FC
Adelaide United
Hyundai A-League R27
Suncorp Stadium

Reds seal Home Elimination Final with helter-skelter win over Brisbane

A blistering second-half display from Adelaide United has eventually overpowered Brisbane Roar to claim a crazy 5-3 win and book a Home Elimination Final.

There were five different goal scorers for the Reds in an action-packed ANZAC Day clash as they twice had to comeback in a game that lacked structure for the majority of the 90 minutes.

Adelaide initially opened the scoring through Nikola Mileusnić but Brisbane had overturned the deficit by half-time.

George Blackwood levelled proceedings to start the second-half before Eric Bautheac slotted a penalty to put the Roar in front again.

However, Adelaide responded with goals from Craig Goodwin, Baba Diawara and Isaías to ultimately secure the vital win.

The equation for Adelaide was simple heading into their final game of the regular season. Win and they guarantee fourth place and a home Elimination Final. Drop points and it would be a nervous wait until Sunday and hope Wellington Phoenix end up empty handed against Perth Glory.  

Marco Kurz named an unchanged line-up for the match while Baba Diawara and Apostolos Stamatelopoulos returned to the bench from injury and suspension respectively.

Adelaide got off to the perfect start when Mileusnić headed in Ryan Kitto’s cross on four minutes.

Though Kurz’s men switched off and invited Brisbane back into the contest after a sloppy turnover.

Matt McKay, in his final game, forced Paul Izzo into a save which landed straight into the path of Dylan Wenzel-Halls who smashed in the rebound.

And in the fourth minute of first-half stoppage time, Nicholas D’Agostino scored a free header to compound a frustrating end to the half.

The Reds responded in the second stanza with Goodwin exhibiting exceptional wing play before squaring his cross to Blackwood for an open goal tap-in.

But just on the hour mark Brisbane were awarded a penalty when Izzo caught D’Agostino with the subsequent penalty audaciously converted by Bautheac.

Still with time remaining Adelaide continued to believe as Goodwin equalised with an emphatic effort.

The 27-year-old controlled a high ball with a stunning first touch and then cut inside onto his right foot, arrowing his strike into the top corner.

In the 76th minute, Baba Diawara then gave United the lead steering his finish off Scott Galloways cross past Jamie Young in his first league appearance since Round 2.

Isaías then made sure of the three points when he curled his shot into the far post from a half-cleared corner on 85 minutes.

United will now most likely face Wellington Phoenix next Sunday night at Coopers Stadium.


Key moments:

4’ | GOAL! Kitto delivers a cross into the area which is nodded in by Mileusnić at the back post.

Nikola Mileusnić gives the Reds an early lead

35’ | GOAL: McKay’s shot is parried by Izzo but only as far as Wenzel-Halls who rifles in the rebound.

42’ | CHANCE! Blackwood skips past two challenges and then drags his low, angled shot just wide of the far corner.

45+4’ | GOAL: Bautheac swings in the recycled cross from the corner which D’Agostino heads in.

51’ | GOAL! Goodwin beats his opponent on the wing and gets to the byline before squaring for a simple Blackwood finish.

George Blackwood taps in the equaliser following impressive lead up work by Goodwin

61’ | GOAL: Bautheac nonchalantly scores the penalty to retake the lead.

71’ | GOAL! Goodwin’s sublime first touch allows him to drive forward and smash him finish into the net

Craig Goodwin shows his class

76’ | GOAL! Diawara clinically diverts Galloway’s low cross from the right.

Baba Diawara is back with a goal!

85’ | GOAL! Isaías receives the ball back from a short corner and beats his opponent and striking his finish into the bottom corner to make it 5-3.

Captain Isaías wraps up the three points

Match details:
Thursday, 25 April 2019
Hyundai A-League 2018/19 – Round 27
Brisbane Roar 3 (Wenzel-Halls 35’ D’Agostino 45+4’ Bautheac 61’)
Adelaide United 5 (Mileusnić 4’ Blackwood 51’ Goodwin 71’ Diawara 76’ Isaías 85’)
Venue: Suncorp Stadium

Related news

Hyundai A-League 2018/19
# Club P W D L PTS
Perth Glory 27 18 6 3 60
Sydney FC 27 16 4 7 52
Melbourne Victory 27 15 5 7 50
Adelaide United 27 12 8 7 44
Melbourne City FC 27 11 7 9 40
Wellington Phoenix 27 11 7 9 40
Newcastle Jets 27 10 5 12 35
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 27 6 6 15 24
Brisbane Roar FC 27 4 6 17 18
Central Coast Mariners 27 3 4 20 13
# Club P W D L PTS
Melbourne Victory Women 12 7 3 2 24
Brisbane Roar FC Women 12 6 2 4 20
Sydney FC Women 12 6 1 5 19
Perth Glory Women 12 5 4 3 19
Melbourne City FC Women 12 6 1 5 19
Adelaide United Women 12 5 3 4 18
Newcastle Jets Women 12 5 1 6 16
Canberra United Women 12 3 4 5 13
Western Sydney Wanderers Women 12 1 1 10 4
Group A
# Club P W D L PTS
Brisbane Roar FC Youth 8 5 1 2 16
Melbourne City FC Youth 8 5 1 2 16
Perth Glory Youth 8 3 2 3 11
Adelaide United Youth 8 3 1 4 10
Melbourne Victory Youth 8 1 1 6 4
# Club P W D L PTS
Western Sydney Wanderers FC Youth 8 6 0 2 18
Sydney FC Youth 8 5 0 3 15
Central Coast Mariners Youth 8 5 0 3 15
Newcastle Jets Youth 8 3 1 4 10
Canberra United Youth 8 0 1 7 1