Adelaide United
Perth Glory
Hyundai A-League R19
Coopers Stadium

Glory down Reds in Adelaide

A rampant Perth Glory have climbed inside the Hyundai A-League’s top four after dismantling an abject Adelaide United 5-0 at Coopers Stadium on Friday night.

Kick-off was postponed by an hour due to soaring temperatures in the South Australian capital but it was Kenny Lowe’s side that were red hot when play got under way netting three first-half goals.

A disastrous own-goal from Iacopo La Rocca for the opener was the antithesis of the kind of play Fox Sports are promoting in this weekend’s “Defenders Round” but it was only a sign of things to come for the home side.

Diego Castro and Andy Keogh both got on the scoresheet before the break, with Adam Taggart getting in on the act in the first minute of the second stanza.

Marcelo Carrusca, who was wearing the captain’s armband in the absence of Eugene Galekovic, had a couple of first-half chances when Adelaide were only two goals down but it was as close as they would come to pulling a goal back.

Instead Castro iced the result by grabbing a double late on, with Reds goalkeeper John Hall making a couple of strong saves in injury time to ensure they didn’t lose by a greater margin.

In the end Glory also got the clean sheet they craved – just their second of the season – with Rhys Williams making a successful return to the backline and fighting through the pain barrier to see out the contest.

Catch up with all the action at our match centre here



0-1 Perth Glory: Iacopo La Rocca OG, 15’

Glory’s Josh Risdon carried the ball to the by-line before whipping in a cross which the Reds’ central defender inexplicably headed into his own net despite being under no pressure at the back post.

0-2 Perth Glory: Diego Castro, 37’

The Spaniard pulled one out of his bag of tricks inside the Reds box, playing a one-two ball with Keogh before cutting back inside and angling his shot inside the far post, which took a deflection on the way.

0-3 Perth Glory: Andy Keogh, 45+1’

Castro went on a mazy run after Adelaide turned the ball over in the centre of the park, feeding the run of Keogh who opened up his body and clinically stroked the ball inside the far post.

0-4 Perth Glory: Adam Taggart, 46’

Glory were given two bites of the cherry in attack in the opening minute of the second half, with Taggart the beneficiary as he was able to sweep the ball home from inside the box virtually unchallenged.

0-5 Perth Glory: Diego Castro, 88’

Aryn Williams carried the ball into the box before finding the angled run of Castro, who showed great desire to get in front of his defender before diverting the ball into the back of the net.


Iacopo La Rocca’s unhappy night came to a premature end after he had to be substituted just after the half-hour mark with a hip complaint. Taylor Regan came on in his place.

With the result assured Glory striker Andy Keogh exited the contest on the hour mark after struggling with a tight hamstring. Dino Djulbic was his replacement.

Re-live the action on Twitter

@ALeague, @AdelaideUnited, @PerthGloryFC, #ADLvPER

Hyundai A-League 2018/19
# Club P W D L PTS
Perth Glory 26 17 6 3 57
Sydney FC 26 16 4 6 52
Melbourne Victory 26 14 5 7 47
Adelaide United 26 11 8 7 41
Wellington Phoenix 26 11 7 8 40
Melbourne City FC 26 10 7 9 37
Newcastle Jets 26 9 5 12 32
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 26 6 6 14 24
Brisbane Roar FC 26 4 6 16 18
Central Coast Mariners 26 3 4 19 13
# Club P W D L PTS
Melbourne Victory Women 12 7 3 2 24
Brisbane Roar FC Women 12 6 2 4 20
Sydney FC Women 12 6 1 5 19
Perth Glory Women 12 5 4 3 19
Melbourne City FC Women 12 6 1 5 19
Adelaide United Women 12 5 3 4 18
Newcastle Jets Women 12 5 1 6 16
Canberra United Women 12 3 4 5 13
Western Sydney Wanderers Women 12 1 1 10 4
Group A
# Club P W D L PTS
Brisbane Roar FC Youth 8 5 1 2 16
Melbourne City FC Youth 8 5 1 2 16
Perth Glory Youth 8 3 2 3 11
Adelaide United Youth 8 3 1 4 10
Melbourne Victory Youth 8 1 1 6 4
# Club P W D L PTS
Western Sydney Wanderers FC Youth 8 6 0 2 18
Sydney FC Youth 8 5 0 3 15
Central Coast Mariners Youth 8 5 0 3 15
Newcastle Jets Youth 8 3 1 4 10
Canberra United Youth 8 0 1 7 1