Adelaide United
Melbourne Victory
Hyundai A-League R12
Coopers Stadium

Reds produce flawless Victory

Two goals in quick succession has seen Adelaide United inflict Melbourne Victory’s first loss since Round 2 following a stunning 2-0 win at Coopers Stadium on Wednesday night.

First-half goals from Craig Goodwin and Ken Ilsø in the space of three minutes saw the Reds race to a 2-0 goal lead and it ultimately proved a mountain too big to climb for Victory.

The result ensures United consolidate their place in the top six and sees them record a first home triumph over Victory in the Hyundai A-League since February 2013.

Marco Kurz made two changes to the starting line-up following the 0-0 draw with Wellington Phoenix. Nathan Konstandopoulos replaced the suspended Vince Lia, who missed the clash due to the accumulation of five yellow cards. Nikola Mileusnić also returned with Ryan Kitto moving the bench. Meanwhile, there was a place for youngster Louis D’Arrigo on the bench.

Adelaide had an early chance through Ben Halloran after intercepting an errant Leigh Broxham square pass.

However, chances were few and far between for the next 15 minutes, with the game proving to be a real tense and tactical battle.

But the match burst into life when Adelaide scored two goals in three minutes.

Isaías released Mileusnić down the right wing and his inch-perfect cross was met by a sliding Goodwin, who expertly finished for his fifth league goal of the campaign to make it 1-0.

Three minutes later, Coopers Stadium erupted after Ilsø dispossessed Thomas Deng, and dribbled forward to double United’s lead.

Thomas managed to get a hand on the Danish attacking midfielder’s shot but it was hit with too much power as he ran off in celebration.

Adelaide’s high-pressing game continued to force turnovers and thwart Victory’s possession-based style.

Given Melbourne’s potent attack, they did threaten on the break at times however.

Ola Toivonen came the closest in the first-half when his free-kick was instinctively parried away by Paul Izzo, diving down low to his left.

Adelaide came out all guns blazing to start the second-half with Halloran and Isaías the impetus behind the hosts having the momentum.

Indeed it was Halloran who cleverly eluded his marker in midfield before playing in Mileusnić, whose powerful, angled strike was blocked by Thomas’ foot.

Adelaide weathered the storm for the majority of the second stanza, but did at times invite unnecessary pressure on themselves.

Though, the Reds could also have added to their two-goal buffer. Halloran had two great chances to find the net himself.

Terry Antonis almost pulled a goal back when he struck the crossbar with a brilliant long-range thunderbolt.

However, it did no matter as the Reds marched to a dominant three points and in the process snap Victory’s nine-match unbeaten streak, while moving seven points clear of the seventh-placed Newcastle Jets.

Key moments:

18’ | GOAL! Goodwin opens the scoring with a neat finish after meeting Mileusnić’s low cross.

Craig Goodwin scores our 300th goal at home and 500th Hyundai A-League goal!

21’ | GOAL! Ilsø grabs his third league goal of the season, pouncing on a defensive mistake to double the advantage.

Ken Ilsø doubles the advantage

32’ | SAVE! Izzo makes a brilliant save, diving low to his left to parry away Toivonen’s curling free-kick.

Paul Izzo denies Toivonen's free kick

69’ | CHANCE! Strain frees Mileusnić and he squares the ball for Halloran but his finish is tipped wide by Thomas.

71’ | CHANCE: Antonis’s left footed strike from distance rattles off the crossbar and bounces out.

Match details:

Wednesday, 9 January 2018
Hyundai A-League 2018/19 – Round 12
Adelaide United 2 (Goodwin 18’ Ilsø 21’ )
Melbourne Victory 0
Venue: Coopers Stadium
Crowd: 12,115

Related news

Hyundai A-League 2018/19
# Club P W D L PTS
Perth Glory 27 18 6 3 60
Sydney FC 27 16 4 7 52
Melbourne Victory 27 15 5 7 50
Adelaide United 27 12 8 7 44
Melbourne City FC 27 11 7 9 40
Wellington Phoenix 27 11 7 9 40
Newcastle Jets 27 10 5 12 35
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 27 6 6 15 24
Brisbane Roar FC 27 4 6 17 18
Central Coast Mariners 27 3 4 20 13
# Club P W D L PTS
Melbourne Victory Women 12 7 3 2 24
Brisbane Roar FC Women 12 6 2 4 20
Sydney FC Women 12 6 1 5 19
Perth Glory Women 12 5 4 3 19
Melbourne City FC Women 12 6 1 5 19
Adelaide United Women 12 5 3 4 18
Newcastle Jets Women 12 5 1 6 16
Canberra United Women 12 3 4 5 13
Western Sydney Wanderers Women 12 1 1 10 4
Group A
# Club P W D L PTS
Brisbane Roar FC Youth 8 5 1 2 16
Melbourne City FC Youth 8 5 1 2 16
Perth Glory Youth 8 3 2 3 11
Adelaide United Youth 8 3 1 4 10
Melbourne Victory Youth 8 1 1 6 4
# Club P W D L PTS
Western Sydney Wanderers FC Youth 8 6 0 2 18
Sydney FC Youth 8 5 0 3 15
Central Coast Mariners Youth 8 5 0 3 15
Newcastle Jets Youth 8 3 1 4 10
Canberra United Youth 8 0 1 7 1