Adelaide United Football Club

The Hyundai A-League commenced in 2005 and Adelaide United FC quickly emerged as a dominant force in the competition. The Club was crowned inaugural Premiers, and then followed by a Grand Final berth in 2006/07. During the Club's first Hyundai A-League season, Adelaide United set several records. These included the fastest ever goal (Louis Brain - 13 seconds), three top 10 goals of the season (Shengqing Qu) and best away record (8 wins, 1 draw, 2 losses).

Adelaide United’s 2008/09 campaign saw the Reds surface on the international stage, featuring in the 2008 AFC Champions League Final, before competing in the prestigious FIFA Club World Cup in Japan where the Club secured a commendable 5th place and the FIFA Fair Play Award. Adelaide would also finish the domestic season with a second Hyundai A-League Grand Final appearance.    

In the 2010/11 season, Adelaide United bounced back from finishing bottom the previous season, playing a free-scoring brand of football, to finish third on the table. However, the Reds suffered a heartbreaking 3-2 home loss to Gold Coast United in the second week of the finals.

The season also saw Adelaide claim its first Johnny Warren medalist in Marcos Flores (awarded to the best player in the league), as well as a first Hyundai A-League Golden Boot winner in striker Sergio van Dijk, who finished with 16 goals at the end of the regular season.

In the 2014/15 season Adelaide ended its silverware drought by lifting the maiden Westfield FFA Cup under Head Coach Josep Gombau, following a 1-0 win over Perth Glory in the final at Coopers Stadium. The Reds subsequently finished third in the regular season, but was knocked out in the semi-finals.

Barcelona legend, Guillermo Amor, was appointed Head Coach of the Club for the 2015/16 season. A difficult start had the Reds winless after the first eight rounds and situated at the bottom of the table. But Adelaide pulled off the unthinkable, which comprised of a 14-match unbeaten streak, to clinch the Premiers’ Plate.

A few weeks later, Adelaide secured an elusive Championship after beating the Western Sydney Wanderers 3-1 in the Hyundai A-League Grand Final in front of a sell-out crowd at Adelaide Oval, to win the double and cap off the Club’s most successful season to date.

In the 2016/17 season, Adelaide experienced a frustrating to finish ninth but almost advanced to the knockout stages of the AFC Champions League. 

Hyundai A-League
2005/06 Inaugural Premiers, Finished 3rd (Coach - John Kosmina)
2006/07 Finished 2nd (Coach - John Kosmina)
2007/08 Finished 6th (Coach - Aurelio Vidmar)
2008/09 Finished 2nd (Coach - Aurelio Vidmar)
2009/10 Finished 10th (Coach - Aurelio Vidmar)
2010/11 Finished 3rd (Coach - Rini Coolen)
2011/12 Finished 9th (Coach - Rini Coolen, replaced by John Kosmina)
2012/13 Finished 4th (Coach - John Kosmina, replaced by Michael Valkanis)
2013/14 Finished 6th (Coach - Josep Gombau)
2014/15 Finished 3rd (Coach - Josep Gombau)
2015/16 Finished 1st (Coach - Guillermo Amor)
2016/17 Finished 9th (Coach - Guillermo Amor)

History of Achievements
2005/06 Hyundai A-League Premiers
2006 Pre Season Cup Champions
2006/07 Hyundai A-League Grand Finalists
2007 Pre Season Cup Champions
2007 AFC Champions League Qualification
2007/08 Hyundai A-League Rising Star (Bruce Djite)
2008 FFA Hall of Fame inductee (Aurelio Vidmar)
2008 AFC Champions League Qualification
2008 AFC Champions League Finalists
2008 FIFA Club World Cup qualification (Finished 5th)
2008 FIFA Club World Cup ‘Fair Play Award’
2008 FIFA Club World Cup Goal of the Tournament (Cristiano)
2008/09 Hyundai A-League Grand Finalists
2008/09 Hyundai A-League Rising Star (Scott Jamieson)
2008/09 Hyundai A-League Goal Keeper of the Year (Eugene Galekovic)
2008/09 Hyundai A-League Coach of the Year (Aurelio Vidmar)
2009 The Advertiser/Channel 7 Sports Star of the Year - Coach of the Year (Aurelio Vidmar)
2009/10 Hyundai A-League Goalkeeper of the Year (Eugene Galekovic)
2010 AFC Champions League Qualification
2010/11 Hyundai A-League Golden Boot (Sergio van Dijk)
2010/11 Hyundai A-League Johnny Warren Medallist (Marcos Flores)
2010/11 Hyundai A-League Fan Group of the Year Award
2012 AFC Champions League Qualification
2012/13 National Youth League Player of the Year (Awer Mabil)
2013/14 Hyundai A-League Goalkeeper of the Year (Eugene Galekovic)
2013/14 National Youth League Golden Boot (Anthony Costa)
2014 Westifeld FFA Cup Winners
2014 Mark Viduka Medal (Sergio Cirio)
2014/15 Hyundai A-League Goalkeeper of the Year (Eugene Galekovic)
2014/15 NAB Young Football of The Year (Jimmy Jeggo)
2014/15 Hyundai A-League Goal of the Year (Tarek Elrich)
2015/16 Hyundai A-League Premiers
2015/16 Hyundai A-League Champions
2015/16 Hyundai A-League Coach of the Year (Guillermo Amor)